Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brinked

Kitchen Upgrade (too much white)

brinked
13 years ago

Hello.

Wife and I are in the process of buying a new home. The one thing we dont like about it is the feel of the kitchen. It is very white. We thought about redoing the entire kitchen but that would be very costly. The cabinets are all in good shape, and are decent quality. Here is a picture of the kitchen:

{{!gwi}}

Instead of going all out I figured we can really make this kitchen look nice in other ways such as:

1. Replacing the counter tops. The current ones have to go, would like new granite ones that offset a lot of the white going on.

2. Stainless steel appliances.

3. Backsplash on the walls below the cabinets.

4. new handles for the cabinets.

5. Possibley refinishing the cabinets to a different color rather than replacing them.

What are everyones thoughts? I am very new at this and am terrible at design so any feedback would be much appreciated.

Comments (25)

• Fori
    13 years ago

MY EYES!
    First, live with it a few weeks to see if the layout works--don't want new counters if you'll have to do a minor cabinet tweak because something makes you crazy.

After that, I think your plan makes a lot of sense. I bet those cabinets will look great white once everything else isn't.

• ntt_hou
    13 years ago

That was pretty much with what I did with my almost all white kitchen. Besides needing to be more wheelchair accessible, I wanted it to look warmer and more defined. After it was done, the difference was tremendous. I still love cooking, cleaning and living in my beautiful kitchen.

So, YES, go for it! It will make you feel more at home. However, do it before you move in all your stuff. After the refacing is done, you will have an easier time cleaning without furniture around.

Below is a link to my refaced kitchen.

Here is a link that might be useful: NTT's warm and cozy kitchen

• joyjoyjoy
    13 years ago