Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sevala_gw

kitchen layout help

sevala
11 years ago

ok, this is my first time posting pics, so I apologize in advance because I know it won't be right.

We have recently purchased a 1965 house with the original kitchen - a gut. It's exciting, but daunting. I am going to post two alternate layouts, but am open to suggestions. The overall size of the room (including the eat-in area) is about 14' wide by about 21' long.

We are a family of four, two DDs, 6 and 9 and two adult cooks. DH is into baking bread as well, and the kiddos also like to join in, mostly to help with tasting :) We cook almost every day and DH works at home, so sometimes cooks a real lunch as well. Our splurge in this kitchen is a 36 inch Wolf rangetop and hood. we'll also have double ovens, and a french door fridge (not counter-depth).

We'd like to keep the range on the outside wall, where there is already a vent. I definitely do not want the rangetop in the island.

The window on the side wall in the kitchen area is negotiable. In the professional drawing it stays, in the . . . let's say, less professional drawing, it is gone.

The major design challenge has been the window in the front of the house because a) it's in the front of the house; b) the house is a cape cod, so it's symmetrical with a window on the other side of the house; and c) the sill is only 26 inches from the floor. I could put in a smaller window, but I'd prefer not to, because it would mean having to change the window on the other side of the house, patch the clapboard, etc. Not ruling it out though.