Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carolyn53562

Fixing checks in table with catalytic finish

carolyn53562
16 years ago

I have a Saloom maple dining room table with a catalytic finish. When the table was delivered to me in August of 2006, there were two tiny cracks in the finish that you could only see if the light hit it just right. The cracks were about 1/2" long or less in August of 2006 when the table was delivered and now they are about 1" long. I am not a woodworking expert and did not know that the cracks were a problem. This week I contacted Saloom, the manufacturer, and they claim (VERY rudely I might add--I wrote them a letter and they called me back and it was one of the most hostile and confrontational phone call I have ever received) they can tell from the pictures that the cracks are cracks in the wood, not the finish, and that it is not their problem. Can you tell from the pictures whether the cracks are just in the finish or in the wood? Is there anything I can do to stop the cracks from getting bigger? Or should I wait until the finish starts chipping off and then refinish the whole table? The cracks are not noticeable unless the light hits them just right, but they are very slowly getting bigger and the finish is starting to curl at the edges of the cracks and I would like to stop them, if I can. Thanks.

Here is a link that might be useful: pictures of cracks

Comments (27)

• furnone
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago