Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
debra123_gw

Selling and would appreciate your advice

debra123
17 years ago

Hi, I am new to this very informative board. My dh and I have lived in our house for 20 years. We need something bigger to fit our family. Having never sold a home before and its been so long since we bought(we were really young too)that I have no clue how to sell. We would like to sell it on our own in order to save the commission. This weekend we are going to put extra furniture and all our knick knacks etc into storage. How do we start? Find a comprable price and stick a sign outside? We would like to buy in the area, do we get pre approval now, for another purchase? We have been searching the internet and this site is awesome,we are a bit (a lot) clueless. How do I find out what inspections have to be done, etc. Any advice would be deeply appreciated.

Thank you,

Deb

Comments (18)

• quirkyquercus
    17 years ago

Unless you're in a really hot market or just have a lot of luck, you can't just stick a sign in the yard. That is unrealistic. I highly suggest going to the bookstore and picking up a book or two on selling by owner. It will cover the do's and don'ts and what you need to do. It's really not difficult but there's more to know that anyone can really post here.

• terezosa / terriks
    17 years ago

Here is a site that is a good start into the process of buying and selling.

Here is a link that might be useful: ABCs of Real Estate

• xamsx
    17 years ago

Debra there are a lot of people on this forum who have sold FSBO. I'm sure they'll pipe up soon.

What area are you in? How hot is your market? Why do you want to do a FSBO? To get the most money from the sale, to have control over the showings? How will you advertise? Does FSBO sell in your area? Would you consider the local mls via a reduced-fee or flat-fee realtor? Do you have a back-up plan your house does not sell FSBO?