Return to the Marriage Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
how to talk to husband

Posted by nicole2_2009 (My Page) on
Sat, Feb 21, 09 at 0:22

I am new to this and need advice. I am to embarassed to go to family/friends.
I am 26 my husband is 31 we have been married for almost 7 years and have 2 kids. My husband has never showed me affection outside of us having sex. I don't get any hugs or kisses or I love yous. I would complain when we first got married but he would tell me that we have sex and that is him showing affection. I was young and thought I was being to emotional. So our lives got busy and I dealt with it. I work part time and about 4 months ago I came home after having to work later than normal and the first thing he says to me is where have you been, I have never given him any reason not to trust me. I decided to stop caring, if he didn't have to show it or work at it why should I, that was 4 months ago.
I asked a few weeks ago if he was satisfied with his life, I listed things, he said no to all of them. He told me he would never be satisfied, that broke my heart and made me so unhappy. I feel guilty for being unhappy he is a good father and a good person, I don't know what to say to make him understand that he needs to show me he loves me.
sorry this is way to long.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: how to talk to husband

Did your husband come from a family that was not affectionate?

These things can be learned, but it is not comfortable.

You need dialogue for sure, but at this point he will feel defensive. You'll benefit from getting to a place where you can both talk freely without feeling manipuated or drilled -

Have you considered counseling?

o

No they are not very affectionate or very talkative to one another. That was always a little difficult for me since my family is exactly the opposite. They have always treated me very well though I want to say.