Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
boxiebabe

we need a great top load washing machine and great electric dryer

boxiebabe
15 years ago

Do you have a GREAT top load washing machine and GREAT electric dryer?

If so, please tell me all about it!

Brand

Model

Price

Where purchased

What you like about it/them

I do a ton of laundry! For only having 2 people in the house, you would think I wouldn't, but I must do at least 15 loads per week. Our old Kenmores just can't seem to take the abuse any longer, so we're in the market for a new set. Because I am tall AND have a bad back, the front load washer won't work for me, even with the pedestals (which by the way, I have read make the washing machine noise increased).

I have a subscription to Consumer Reports online, and I could read other website reviews, but you GW'ers seem to know much more and I've come to trust y'all! ;-)

So please tell me all about what you have and why you like it.

Many thanks,

Boxie

Comments (35)

• qtpidani
    15 years ago

I've been doing a ton of research on regular 'ol TL washers and from what I've read, you can't go wrong with a Whirlpool.

• friedajune
    15 years ago

Boxiebabe - don't know if you've seen these threads, but if not, I'll link them:

Which washer is better for your back?

Best TL - no agitator

• boxiebabe
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I've heard the same thing about Whirlpools.

I had done a search before posting this, and came up with one of those (which I read), but didn't hit the other one.

Thanks to both of you for the input!

• angelic_one2002
    15 years ago

I LOVE my Maytag top loader! I bought it in March of this year, and wouldn't buy anything else. I dont know the model number offhand, but it is a top loader we bought at Sears. It was 500.00. I like it because it washes clothes like none other I have owned, and I previousely owned a Kenmore top loader, and a Speed Queen.

• boxiebabe
    Original Author
    15 years ago