Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
seashine

Small galley kitchen remodel layout

seashine
10 years ago

I have a small galley kitchen that I'd like to remodel with new cabinets, floor, counters and appliances. I've never done any remodeling before. I don't plan on this being a DIY project but also have a small budget for it.

I'd like some ideas about how to maximimize the storage space and work space. Aesthetically, I think I'd like the sink and range to be switched, but fear the added cost to move both water and gas lines.

Ideas/suggestions for me? I have attached a basic floorplan of the dimensions, appliances, openings as they are now.

Key points:
9 x 8 essentially
Exterior door at one end
Dining room at the other
Small bay (?) Window above range

Thank you!

Comments (16)

• herbflavor
    10 years ago

can the exterior door be closed up and a new location be created for the side entrance. So much more could be done without traffic through the kitchen and availability of 3 walls to flank with storage/counters of some sort. People could help you with designing the corners and that outside wall with perhaps even a new window...it would be great.

• williamsem
    10 years ago

Before ruling out moving your sink and range, what are you dealing with? Basement with acces, slab, crawl space? Which way do your joists run? It might be very reasonable to move them depending on how things are set up.

• seashine
    Original Author
    10 years ago

For now, I have to say no to moving the door, although we are exploring the idea. I guess I'd like to explore an option where the door remains and an option where the door disappears.
    How do I add 3 more photos? I have them in photobucket, but can't figure out which link adds them to the post.
    Thank you!

• seashine
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Williamsem, the kitchen is above a finished daylight basement. There is a finished bathroom below the kitchen. I don't know which way the joists run.

• seashine