Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
realjoy

Need Help Finalizing Kitchen Layout & Design

realjoy
11 years ago

We need to get our finalized kitchen layout to our builder this week. I would appreciate any and all help & feedback, as I'm new to all of this and want to be sure I get the kitchen right (this is hopefully the "forever home").

The latest layout had a 36" range, but I fell in love with the 48" bluestar. My builder thinks we can put it on the wall, and still keep my 30", 3 deep drawers on either side (the pen marks). There is a blind corner pull out shelf unit (really don't want it, but he says nothing else can be done).

The other changes I am considering, are moving microwave to island as a microwave drawer, and making the "drink station" cabs 24's with glass fronts and then a row of spice drawers below. The micro drawer would be on same side as prep sink, but on right corner of island. I would also then remove my prep "sitting area" and instead put more drawers.

Our cabs are Merrillat Cherry with Paprika stain. The initial designer thought doing the island & range hood cover in Kona would look nice, but now I'm considering only keeping the island in Kona. I dont want the kitchen to be dark, so I am going against her suggestion of black perimeter counters in lieu of a lighter quartz or granite.

Please share any and all thoughts and suggestions, especially on drawer size, placement, etc. and also on kitchen color scheme.

Layout:

Renderings:

Comments (10)

• Kathy Rivera
    11 years ago

What about moving the fridge to where your drink cabs are. Make that current fridge area the drink/bar zone. And why would you put spice drawers all the way over in the drink zone anyway? Maybe I'm misunderstanding...

And why not close off the blind corner and just do drawers on both sides. I can't figure out what the 12" cab by the sink is, but seems to me you could combine with the blind cab to make another set of drawers?