Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
francesca_sf_gw

How To Buy a Faucet

francesca_sf
14 years ago

Ive lurked and IÂve learned a lot from GardenWeb. So, as a way to give-back, hereÂs a summary of what IÂve learned about How To Buy a Faucet, adding my own experience and my own personal point of view. Now I am no expert, so please feel free to add your research sources and methods about finding faucets.

1. Identify the Best Brands

Identiify the best brands from reliable sources who have broad experience with many brands and information on the construction of the faucets which is not obvious from just looking at them. http://starcraftcustombuilders.com/sources.faucets2.htm

Based on their 15 years of experience, and the experiences of other trusted building professionals, StarCraft Builders, the source of this article, has rated 30 faucet companies. My own experience of getting out and "feeling the merchandise" confirms the lower rated faucets feel lighter, cheaper, not as smooth-operating as the better-rated brands. There are plenty of popular brands they didnÂt mention such as Elements of Design, Herbeau, Kindred, Kraus, Newport Brass, Rohl, Waterstone and Whitehaus.

Rated 7 -9 out of 10

Chicago, Dornbracht, Graff, Jado, KWC, LaCava, MSG Progetti, Porcher, San-Ei

Rated 6-8 out of 10

Blanco, Grohe, Mico, Phylrich, THG

Rate 5 to 7 or 8 out of 10

Brizo, Ginger, Hamat, Hansgrohe, Mico, Storm, Symmons

Rated 4 to 7 out of 10

American Standard, Danze, Eljer, Elkay, Kohler, Price-Pfister

Rated 3 to 6 or 7 out of 10

Delta, Moen, Peerless

Other caveats from the article:

1. "For the money, a basic American faucet may be one of the best consumer values around. Designed to last a lifetime, all but the cheapest will and if they donÂt the manufacturer will at least replace defective parts. Washerless valves have virtually banished leaks.