Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
myhappyspace

Please give me your thoughts on our house plans

myhappyspace
11 years ago

We are hoping to start building this fall. We are 30 and 31, and have two small girls, and are thinking of having one more kid. My husband will be taking over the family masonry business next summer, as soon as we close on the house (for loan reasons). I am a CPA and hope to one day run a small accounting business from home.

I'm torn on the placement of the french doors into the office. My first thought was having them right off of the foyer so if I had clients coming it could be directly into the office. My dad (our architect) brought up placing them where they are would lend to being able to see out the front window easier from the great room. Thoughts?

Comments (22)

• myhappyspace
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Downstairs floor plan (walkout). The doors on the two rooms to the left will be moved up closer, and the closets will be the same shape. The den area will be shifted slightly to the left so that the open area (I think he just labeled it study) can be usable, and we'll set it up if we decide to place a bar there in a few years.

• joyce_6333
    11 years ago

I have very few suggestions. I really, really like your plans, maybe because it's so similar to our home...except our study and stairs are swapped making the front door more in the middle of that front wall. Our kitchen is not as open, as I prefer a more closed off kitchen. And I prefer my desk in less conspicuous place. On both accounts, can I say I'm messy!!! Be sure to post your plan on the kitchen forum. It's quite a distance between the stove and sink. Are you having a pot filler?

Very nice home, can't wait to see your finishes.

• myhappyspace
    Original Author
    11 years ago

My sister in law is a kitchen designer, so I think she'll be making some tweaks in there. There is a decent amount of distance between the two, so we will look into a pot filler.