Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lazyjane75_gw

Help picking 36" Gas Range (please)

lazyjane75
10 years ago

For some reason I just cannot make up my mind about which 36" all gas range to get. I think I've read about every post on this forum--which might be the problem :) Planning on 6 burners, don't need self-clean. I really need to decide soon as we are aiming to get our kitchen remodel done before baby #3 arrives in July! I like to cook. I am by no means a professional chef, but I'm not too bad.... I have not up to this point done much wok/stirfrying, but it might be fun to try. I do think a good low simmer is essential, though.

I've got it narrowed down to these three (in no particular order).

1. American Range Performer
2. Wolf (all gas)
3. Thermador Pro Harmony (all gas)

I also considered Blue Star, but honestly I don't like the look of it. The display model at our local high end appliance store has a big gap between the door & the drip tray & the door sticks out a lot, which overall looks kind of crappy. I do want my kitchen to be pretty. And I'm a bit worried about those hot door comments. Plus the BS is about $500 more than the most expensive range on my list (Wolf). The build quality on the Platinum & Precious Metals versions looks better, but those are even more $$$. I have also read many posts on this site expressing great enthusiasm for the CC, but it's even more expensive than the Blue Star & also not at a local store, so I can't check it out in person.