Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thombat4

Is it ok to burn pallets?

thombat4
16 years ago

Would burning pallets in an insert be alright? I have access to some and would like to know if there is anything wrong with doing this. Forgive me if this is a dumb question but I'm new to wood burning and if I don't ask then I won't learn anything. Thanks for any and all comments or advice.

bryan

Comments (20)

• edsacre
    16 years ago

I've burned them before & had no problems. They are usually some sort of hardwood. You'll end up with some nails in the ash. I just cut & banged them apart. They are usually pretty dry & burn easily.

• thombat4
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you kindly for that response...I may give it a shot.

• kframe19
    16 years ago

Many pallets are oak. There's a company in Pennsylvania near where my parents live, Treen, that makes pallets, and they use virtually all oak.

I know several people who work in jobs where they have access to a lot of pallets, and they do a lot of their winter heating with them.

• sonny300
    16 years ago

Burn them, but do mix that wood with split logs-(50/50) mix is fine. Burning them by themselves is very hard on the fireplace cause they burn so hot!!!

• edsacre
    16 years ago

They do tend to burn hot, especially the thin boards. They are great as kindling to get the fire going.

• Chris Newell
    16 years ago

They do burn well, the biggest downside I found is dissaembling them. the naild are killers for chain saws etc. and they are put together so securely that I couldn't bust them apart with a sledge. I ended up using a sawzall, but after my first year od burning I quit burning pallets and go strictly with firewood now.

• edsacre
    16 years ago

They can be a pain to take apart. I generally used a circular saw to cut apart. I wouldn't want to wreck my chainsaw

• thombat4
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks for all the replies...many good points brought up.

• biglumber