Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tomatotomata

Please look at this bookcase, and offer advice.

tomatotomata
14 years ago

I have this little bookcase, made of inexpensive wood (I think it cost $40). I'm sure you've seen it before:

I'd like to stain and finish it, but it staining a bad idea? As you can see, it has a lot of color variety in the wood.

I know I would have to use a wood conditioner, but even with that, is the stain a bad idea? Should I just put a finish on it?

I'm not trying to make it look like a valuable antique; I'd just like it to look as good as possible.

Please forgive the large pictures; I'm still learning.

Comments (4)

• mike_kaiser_gw
    14 years ago

I think you should cut back on the coffee before taking pictures. :-)

Stain sticks to bare wood, not finishes so you'd need to remove whatever finish is on it now. What are you trying to accomplish?

• tomatotomata
    Original Author
    14 years ago

I would like a dark stain on it, but I don't want it to turn out blotchy. Do you think a wood conditioner prior to staining would be sufficient to even out the stain? Or should I just live with the light color, and put a finish on it?
    And in that case, varnish? oil?

• bobismyuncle
    14 years ago

It's unclear from the photos if this wood has a finish on it now or now. As Mike says, in order to use stain, you need bare wood.

You can, however, apply a toner (finish with color in it) or a glaze (color _between_ layers of finish).

To be effective, you almost have to spray a toner.

You can buy canned glazes, mix your own, or irony or ironies, use a gel stain as a glaze.

In either case, you need to use products compatible with what is on there now. If this is a factory finish, it is probably lacquer. However it could be a two-part finish. Unless you did it yourself, it is probably not a "varnish."