Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stpaulgal

How much water-based poly is too much?

StPaulGal
10 years ago

Hi all,

I am a total amateur and I could use some help from someone who knows what they are doing.

I am restoring an old factory/railroad cart, and I have finally arrived at the finishing stage. I chose a water-based poly for ease of cleanup and crystal clear coating. My question is this: how many coats is too many?

The instructions suggest 3 coats, but the internet seems to have a massive amount of variation with regard to how many coats are optimal. I have read everything from "should not need more than two" to "water-based versions could require as many as 10 or 20."

I think I would prefer about 5 coats, because the surface of the wood is very uneven and I would like to mitigate that a bit with my finish. (I don't want to sand it smooth because the beauty of the piece, in my opinion, are the pits/scuffs/burn marks from a hundred years of industrial use. But I also want a surface that feels smooth and silky.) However, the last thing I want is a cloudy mess.

So long story short: how much water-based poly is too much?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Comments (11)

• klem1
    10 years ago

Too much is any more than it says on the can to use. Why are you trying an end around on the people that made your finish? You can read the net until you are blind and never find better directions than those furnished by the manufacture.

• StPaulGal
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I am certainly not trying to do an end run around the manufacturer. I am just trying to understand the significance of their suggestion to use three coats. Does that mean "at least three" or "never more than three" or "always exactly three" or something entirely different.

• StPaulGal
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you so much for your helpful response!