Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lorriekay_gw

Spar Urethane .. white looking? How long to turn clear?

lorriekay
13 years ago

I am a super duper novice, first time doing this

I applied diluted Helmsman satin Spar urethane, diluted 50 percent with paint thinner for First coat on hardwood table. I applied it with a rag and plan to sand between coats with many coats. Less and less diluted for first coats and then last coat not diluted.

It seemed to go on clear. I just put a thin layer.

I just checked it and the whole table looks a chalky white. Almost like bleached white wood now.

It has been 1 hr and 15 minutes since I finished applying the first coat. It is outside in open air. Not humid. not hot, moderate weather.

Is this normal? I have searched on the internet and cannot tell if it is supposed to turn white like this.

Hoping it will turn clear..

thanks,

Loretta

P.S. this is my First refinishing job.

Comments (7)

• bobismyuncle
    13 years ago

I am not sure why you are using spar urethane on indoor furniture.

- It is not more moisture resistant, it is less
    - It is not more durable, it is softer and more prone to things like pen impressions.

The major attribute of a spar (long-oil) varnish is its ability to remain soft and flexible. That's an advantage on a boat, a disadvantage on furniture.

But by using a urethane resin, it is much less UV resistant than a non-urethane spar (marine) varnish. In a sun-rich environment, you can expect to last only months before it starts to break down.

If you really have a proper application for spar varnish, expect to pay about $40 a quart for it. Even then you will need regular (annually or bi-annually) maintenance on it.

It's hard to diagnose your problem by reading your description. Though your process of wipe on many thin and thinned coats is a good approach for a varnish.