Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
budget_mcm

Where can I learn the basics of refinishing?

budget_mcm
9 years ago

Hi! I am a beginner with refinishing wood. So far I've refinished furniture using regular wood stain as well as GF gel stain.

Now I'm starting the process of remodeling the kitchen (built in 73) which has beautiful ceiling-height wood kitchen cabinets. I would like to stain them a slightly darker color. I am nervous about this because it I need to fill and stain the hardware holes in the middle of the cabinet doors and I have yet to be completely happy with any wood filler job that I've done.

Can anyone point me in the direction of a good resource about stains/dyes/wood fillers/etc. for a beginner? Thanks!

Comments (4)

• rwiegand
    9 years ago

Get Bob Flexner's books "Understanding Wood Finishing" and "Flexner on FInishing". He also has many articles available online and youtube videos. He also has a "wood finishing 101" (or similar title) that may be more beginner friendly, I haven't seen it. He both knows his stuff and knows how to teach it.

For your holes, wood filler will always be an obvious repair. You either need to blend it in by adding faux grain lines and color variation )I'm sure Flexner's books show how to do this), or making a dutchman from the same wood, which you'll also have to blend in using the same techniques. It's often easier to turn the repairs into a feature rather than a bug by using a contrasting inlay for repair, making the former holes a decorative element.

• sombreuil_mongrel
    9 years ago

Watch a few of this guys videos. Find yourself a small piece of solid wood furniture (no mdf/melamine or resin) to refinish, like a small stand or table that has a flat top an some turned legs. Once you can get a respectable finish on that, move on to your good piece.