Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bigdoglover

Removing dark stain from oak staircase

bigdoglover
15 years ago

This is my first time on this forum. Someone from paint forum recommend that I post my question here. (Thank you, Faron.) Here it is:

Description of our staircase: oak with dark brown stain, sealed with polyurethane, about 1.5 years old. Hand rail and large newel posts with some flat parts, lots of turns and curves, and round balls on the top. (The rest is wrought iron, which will remain the same.)

We have finally decided NOT to paint it, but that we want to take it down to the natural color of the oak and just seal it with something like Bartley's gel, for a nice soft sheen.

Is it possible?

Will we be able to get the stain out of the wood?

Any idea how deep it might have saturated?

Would we first remove the polyurethane with some kind of chemical that would "melt" it off, and then SAND the stain out?

Please advise what you'd recommend.

We are thinking of making this a DIY project.

Thank you in advance.

Comments (9)

• brickeyee
    15 years ago

"Will we be able to get the stain out of the wood?
    Any idea how deep it might have saturated?"

Depends on what type if "stain" it is.
    The common stuff is pigment stain, and really just thin paint.
    Penetration is very shallow (1/32 inch).

"Would we first remove the polyurethane with some kind of chemical that would "melt" it off, and then SAND the stain out?"

The chemicals to remove polyurethane are usually pretty harsh.

• bobismyuncle
    15 years ago