Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kathrynd_gw

Good Resources : How To Crown Molding and Trim

kathrynd
14 years ago

Hello,

We are about to venture into creating molding and trim in our circa 1880 renovation home. This home was never a victorian beauty, but a solid, square, well lived in house. Most of the original woodwork disappeared long ago and what is left is mostly dry-rotted. I am thinking classic elegant trim, nothing over the top - just like the house - simple and solid.

We are amateur wood-workers, but quick learners, self-taught on all previous projects and good with tools - have router, table saw, chop saw, etc. I believe with proper instruction and some trials and errors, we will be able to create what we want.

Can anyone recommend any good how-to books or websites we would be able to get some basic instruction from? I went to Amazon and was overwhelmed on the book selection in the trim and molding catagory. I am thinking some of these are fluff. Even a couple of resources I could read and combine the info would be fine.

Thanks!

Comments (7)

• User
    14 years ago

Get a book authored by Pat Warner(aka Routerman) and a trim carpentry book at Home Depot or Lowes.

Join a woodworking website(I am partial to www.woodnet.net , there is also Saw Mill Creek) and let folks know(in the appropriate forum what you want to do. There are very experienced folks at both places who will be happy to help.

• chrisny
    14 years ago

I can't recommend any books but if you have those tools I'd suggest you buy a stick of crown. cut 2-2' sections, take them to the miter saw, place the top of the crown DOWN and cut one in the middle at 45 degrees left, cut the other at 45 degrees right. You will end up with a set of inside and outside corners "Testers" mark them for your reference.