Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laurielou177

securing kitchen countertop

laurielou177
12 years ago

I've just asked lots about finishing our cherry countertop, but also have questions about securing it to the cabinets. Even though both countertops (basically simple rectangles) sit securely on the cabinets now waiting to be finished, not sure how they should eventually be secured. Cabinet maker said maybe he could just leave unsecured, so we could easily refinish next summer if we choose one finish method and decide to go a different route later. Though he's done lots of kitchen and other work, this is first time he's done a whole kitchen of cabinets and handmade wood countertop. Obviously, my husband and I have no experience to know whether, and how the countertop should be secured to the cabinets. What's standard and why? Thanks.

Comments (5)

• brickeyee
    12 years ago

Angle blocks in the corners of the cabinets and screws driven upwards into the counter.

• RRM1
    12 years ago

Hey, I just looked at this post after leaving you a post in the other thread.

I didn't know your counter tops were not attached. Take them outside and let them sit in direct sunlight (cover at night); we do that a lot with other woods that darken in sunlight (e.g. alder). See what happens over 2-3 days.

If your base cabinets are in place they will probably have top stringers, running front to back on top. These are made to attach counter tops to, screw through them into counter tops or use clips made for that purpose.

• laurielou177
    Original Author
    12 years ago