Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nyrgirl35

how to remove marks from wood table

nyrgirl35
12 years ago

How can I removed marks on my coffee table (when people put their feet up without sock or shoes). It looks like a white film left on wood from were the back of their heel was resting. It doesnt come off with regular furniture wood polish...thanks!!

Comments (9)

• bobismyuncle
    12 years ago

The white is known as blush and is due to water penetrating the finish. Use the cloths at the link below, also usually available at Bed, Bath & Beyond

Here is a link that might be useful: water ring removal cloth

• brickeyee
    12 years ago

Mayonnaise also works in many cases.

Smear it over the blushed areas, wait a half hour, then wipe it off and polish.

• bobismyuncle
    12 years ago

I've heard the mayonnaise story, but never tried it. As a professional, I am reluctant to pull out a jar of Hellman's, smear it around, tell the customer to wipe it off in the morning and hope for the best. I need to have positive results before I walk out the door.

• Mikk
    12 years ago

Or more precisely, condensation trapped between the wood and the finish. It usually dissipated over time (months) as the moisture is absorbed by the wood but there are things you can do for a quicker fix. The cloths mentioned work pretty well on light blushes. For a more aggressive fix on heavier clouding, you can place a chemise over the affected area and apply gentle heat using an iron. If you've never done it before, I would try some scrap piece first, but it's extremely effective, quick, and permanent.

For the professional... using a chinese food carton with hot water in it will help produce some really good water marks to practice on. The wax in the paper (as it is heated) makes an excellent surface seal to help drive condensation under the finish.