Return to the Woodworking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Woodmaster 4 in 1 mouldings

Posted by kjohn38 (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 14, 09 at 20:59

I have a Woodmaster 725 which I recently bought. The info they give you makes it sound like you can make boatloads of money, but from what I can tell there are so many steps that it would be very difficult to be competitive and make a decent hourly wage at it. There are a lot of expenses from extra equipment such as edge sanders, dust collection, sandpaper, other shop expenses such as electricity, that it may actually be cost-prohibitive.

Nethertheless I have begun to make some mouldings and have sold a small amount to a local cabinet shop. The main reason I wanted to do this was to have some variety as I cannot sit at my home deskjob all day due to neck problems.

Would be interested in sharing information with other owners, especially those who are using to generate income, maybe to pass along some tricks and experiences.

Kevin

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Woodmaster 4 in 1 mouldings

You might want to post this on a more professionally-oriented forum like Woodweb.

o
RE: Woodmaster 4 in 1 mouldings

"The info they give you makes it sound like you can make boatloads of money, but from what I can tell there are so many steps that it would be very difficult to be competitive and make a decent hourly wage at it."

Commercial moldings are made on 4 cutter power feed equipment that cuts all the surfaces in a single pass.

No single cutter equipment is going to be cost competitive.

I make only those moldings I cannot obtain from my large and old (in business for over 100 years) lumberyard.

If they do not already have finished molding they use a single cutter shaper with a set up charge of $125 each time the cutter must be set up and changed.

If only a few feet is needed I can run it for less money and faster.

If your purpose in buying the tool was to make money you have been badly misled.

o Post a Follow-Up