Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pretendstogarden

Nail gun? Hammer? Finishing nails for wood trim?

pretendstogarden
15 years ago

I am a complete novice, but willing DIY. I need to install door trim and baseboard in my bathroom. Nothing fancy, just ranch oak. Asked my neighbor, but he is too busy with his own DIY projects.

Would it be best to rent a nail gun or use a hammer? Neighbors wife said I would dent my wood using a hammer.

Do I need to drill pilot holes, or will the nails go through the trim and cement board and studs?

I already bought 2 1/2 inch finishing nails, planning on doing it myself, since there is not much to do. But now I am having doubts.

I can do this, can't I?

Is that the right size nails?

I just really need to get it done so I can get my tile done, so I can get my toilet, shower, and sink hooked up!

Any tips or suggestions?

Otherwise, I think I may stop at the rental place and get a nail gun!

Thanks so much!

Theresa

Comments (12)

• bobismyuncle
    15 years ago

Believe it or not, for many, many, years carpenters used hammers and nails and worked handily. Only because some flannel-shirted guy lays into pneumatics does not mean that an occasional user needs to do the same.

If it's oak, it would help avoid splitting if you drill a pilot hole. (Note: I did not say pre-drill, whatever that means).

• mike_kaiser_gw
    15 years ago

You'll definitely dent the wood if you miss the nail. :-) The idea is to leave the nail a little proud and then finish driving it with a nail set.

Having done it both ways I can tell you that a pneumatic nailer is faster and easier (that's why modern carpenters use 'em). You can definitely hand nail as well but it does take some practice. All depends on your budget and time frame.

I'd probably tile first and then install the moulding. Then you don't have to worry about getting thinset and grout on your trim.

• bobismyuncle
    15 years ago