Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tylermd

MDF Questions

TylerMD
10 years ago

Hi, I am very very new to using MDF and I searched to get some answers to my questions but I never seem to get a straight answer, here they are:

1) I want to join 2 MDF planks face to face, what is the easiest/safest/ way? Is just glue enough? Are screws necessary as i heard they tend to split MDF? What kind of glue should I use?

2) Same as above question but instead edge to face.

3) After joining my planks face to face, I ultimately want to color them, but I do not want the edges between each layer to appear (i.e. I want it to look like one solid block), how should I go about this? Is bondo sufficient to acheive this? When should bondo be applied?

Thank you for answering any of my questions.

Comments (3)

• mike_kaiser_gw
    10 years ago

1.) Glue is generally sufficient. Just ordinary yellow carpenters glue is fine. Elmer's would probably work too. Clamp the surfaces together. Since two flat panels have a tendency to "creep" you could drive a screw or two, a couple of brads, or just cut them slightly oversized before gluing and then trim the finished assembled to the final size.

2.) Screws into the edge of MDF can cause it to split. There are special screws for MDF. Some require a special drill.

3.) I don't know what you mean by "color". I couldn't imagine doing anything to MDF but paint or laminate. Obviously if you want to stain it or something, any filler will never match the MDF.

Bondo would work, give the glue at least a day to dry.

• TylerMD
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks a lot for your answers. Yes by color I mean paint/primer the surface so it looks all the same smoothness.

Also how should I go about sealing the MDF? Should I just use Bondo on everything or is there an easier way?

• CabinetHardwareEtc
    10 years ago

Pre-drilling is always advisable, but especially when screwing into the edges of MDF.