Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
colepatrol

Staining Coffee Table & End Tables

colepatrol
15 years ago

Hello All,

I'm new to this forum so i'm looking for some help. I recently found a coffee table & 2 end tables at a yard sale. They were stained i would say a dark cherry color. I used formbys stripper to remove old stain and saned down to bare.

The problem is i used Antique Wood Polyshades and its coming out streaky and seams to not settle properly and is getting in the corner. Also after the first coat it fealt very rough like fibers sticking out of the wood.

I've been reading forums and can see that polyshades is not good stuff. So should i sand it down to bare or use stripper again than hand sand?

Then what would be better oil based or water based stain? Spounge brush or rag work better?

This is my first time and alot of work has already been done; if i'm gonna do it all over again i want it done right and so it will last for ALONG time.

Comments (5)

• skanman14
    15 years ago

my friend, yuo have bristle marks, that or you have a brush that isnt meant for use with solvents (i.e. nylon or some other synthetic bristle), what can happen if you use a synthetic brush with an oil based coating can make the bristles of the bruch fall out, fray or stick in the solution, if that's not the case then the bristles may be too stiff and making little furows in the urethane as it settles. the solution? foam applicator

as far as your streaky appearance, that could be several things. firstly, all finishes that come in a satin are manufactured as a gloss, flattening agents are then added to the mix to make it that duller sheen. the solution? stir thouroughly. Stirred not shaken, opposite of james bond's preference. shaking can put bubbles in it

as with anything with a pigment, sreaking can occur if the solid pigments in your coating float or settle, making some spots darker/lighter than other spots. the solution?? you guessed it, stir.