Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jbranch_gw

First commission completed

jbranch
15 years ago

I have been doing woodworking for about 25 years - always stuff for myself. I got the opportunity to do my first job for someone else. It was a good learning experience as I want to do woodworking full time near retirement.

This was a tough project since this bookcase is so dang big. Measurements are roughly 5' wide x 8' tall. Client wanted knotty pine. This wood is horrible and it has been a long time since I used it. But I like the design and the client gave me a tip so all is good.

Here is a front view prior to stain so you can get an idea of the size.

Comments (10)

• marys1000
    15 years ago

Nice job - looks great! Hope you charged him well for your time in addition to the tip. Do you want to do a simple twin bed for me? :)

• jbranch
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Marys1000, if I had it to do over, I would have charged more, but I contained costs and did not go over budget, so it was a good project and I learned a lot from it:

1 - The only way I would use this wood again would be if it is painted. Even with pre-stain conditioner, the stain was uneven in places. Also, because of it's size, I had to stain it in sections and that was hard to do and get even color. And, if this project had been painted, I would have used another material any way; so basically I don't see using this lumber again, unless I find a better source for knotty pine.

2 - This is the pine or white wood that is commonly available at the home center. It is very unstable especially the parts of this project that were long, narrow boards. I would buy straight pieces and after cutting them to size, they would bow. Finding straight pieces that had acceptable defects was difficult. One source calls this lumber "Top Choice" which implies it is good lumber, which is just false.