Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ashleysf_gw

building bathroom vanity - matching plywood and solid wood

ashleysf
14 years ago

I am a newbie here - i am going to try building a bathroom vanity cabinet. I want to use Walnut wood. My plan is to build the carcass using a walnut plywood and the drawer fronts and the doors using solid walnut wood. My question is, does the walnut plywood come pre-finished? If so, how do I make sure that the fronts made of solid wood match the exposed sides (made of plywood) in color when finished? since i am a newbie and this is my first attempt at woodworking, I hope that my terminology is clear enough. please help me as i need a lot of hand holding at this point!!!

Comments (11)

• aidan_m
    14 years ago

My advice is to not choose Walnut for your first project. It will be an expensive learning curve. Walnut ply is well over $100 per sheet, literally triple the cost of other furniture grade woods. The plywood comes unfinished, so you don't have to worry about that. I see plenty of pre-finished Maple and Birch panels these days, but never seen Walnut pre-finished sheets. Heck, you have to search for Walnut ply. If you are serious about using Walnut, consider making a dummy one as practice out of cheap materials. Paint Grade Poplar and shop grade Birch or MDF would be good to practice with.

• User
    14 years ago

Walnut varies greatly in natural color---so getting even a close match between dimensional and ply will be tricky.

The best way, IMHO, would be to buy the ply and then try to find the wood that most closely matches it.

Now, the advice aiden gave about the cost and the making of a test or prototype is absolutely correct.

Even Norm Abrams makes a prototype as a test piece.

• Jon1270
    14 years ago