Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flowermum_gw

Experts pleeez help! Shellac troubles

flowermum
13 years ago

In my heart I'm a Norma from New Yankee Workshop, but in reality I'm a novice, so far. A girl can always dream! lol

I'm making a small table top, very simple, very plain. I stained it using Minwax to achieve the dark rich color I wanted. I then wanted it to have a beautiful glossy sheen but I didn't want to use something that would be off-gassing/stinky for a long time.

So I decided to use shellac. (I did wait fully until the stain had dried before applying the shellac.) The first coat seemed to be beautiful. I then sanded with 220 and applied a second coat. After the second coat I looked closely at it and thought I had applied the shellac too thickly. I didn't know how to fix it. I searched the net trying to find solutions and answers, with no luck.

Can someone tell me how to proceed now?

Today I sanded lightly with 180 to try and take down the thick muddled areas, and then I sanded with 220. The board felt amazingly smooth. So I thought it was ready for another coat of shellac. I used a foam brush this time thinking it would hold more shellac and provide a nice even coat.

This coat appeared to be going well until I started to overlap the brush strokes. I soon realized my error and tried not to overlap the brush strokes.

Now the problem is that some areas are "low" and the shellac looks like it didn't take in certain spots. So now I'm off to sand again with 220 only, and see what happens this time.

Next question: Upon my final coat, what do I do to get rid of the dusty look from the sanding? I read on the net to wax but some say you don't have to wax. Can I just use mineral oil or something similar?

The directions on the Zinsser Bullseye Clear Shellac are not detailed.