Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cuda71_gw

Thickness/Drum Sander questions.

cuda71
16 years ago

I am an avid woodworker looking to make my own hardwood flooring. I have a planer, but hate how it snipes boards and don't like potential tearout especially when you are making your last pass or close to it. I am entertaining the idea of a thickness/drum sander to get the lumber to desired thickness.

I will need to process about 2000s.f. of lumber. Is a thickness sander a good way to go? If not, what about planer/moulders any experience with them? I am looking for something in the $1700 range.

Comments (7)

• User
    16 years ago

Snipe generally happens from misadjusted infeed/outfeed supports. And at the beginning or end of a single board. One way to almost do away with snipe is to feed boards end to end.

A sander does do away with snipe, however. Grizzly makes several decent drum sanders and the prices are lower than most.

You do realize you will need to do T&G edges---and a router is really not the machine for several thousand feet of stock(figuring a minimum of three passes per piece of stock.). A shaper is the minimum machine for that.

Plus making a relief cut on the underside of each piece---for ventilation.

All in all, DIY flooring is very expensive if you only do a couple of rooms. Plus hundreds of man hours. So, you can do that, but you will spend many more dollars than if you bought it.

• the_roaming_gnome
    16 years ago

cuda-

I am a professional furniture and custom millwork maker. I have made my own hardwood flooring and millwork throughout my own house. I can tell you that it is MUCH cheaper to make your own flooring and other woodwork provided you have two things: 1. access to the proper equipment. and 2. access to low priced material.