Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sbcichocki

Finishing Wormy Chestnut

sbcichocki
14 years ago

I would really like some opinions from all of you, please.

I will probably be buying some wormy chestnut reclaimed from a 100 year old church floor. The finish on it isn't the best, so that will all have to be sanded off and start new. I don't have a spray room, so I need advice on how to finish this type wood with DIY tools.

I put a couple layers of 100% Pure Tung Oil from Real Milk Paint on a sample board. It is GORGEOUS! But, will this be enough to protect kitchen cabinets?(water will bead up on it) Should I dilute the first layer or two, then put a third undiluted layer on, and then would this be enough? The guy at the place I am getting this from showed me a board with General Arm-R-Seal on it, and it just wasn't rich looking like the tung oil. Would a wax layer on top of the tung oil be protective enough? And what kind of wax?

Obviously I am new to finishing, but am willing to try anything. I just hate the thought of wrapping this beautiful wood in plastic by using polyacrylic, but would that be the best?

Thanks for any advice!

S

Comments (12)

• sbcichocki
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Yes, old floor boards. When we have ripped off the tongue/groove we will have 1x4s, 1x6s, and 1x8s, it just started it's life as a floor. (reclaimed wood)
    What kind of finish would you suggest? I have only used tung oil, poly acrylic and polyeurathane when finishing anything we have made. I just thought since this was such 'special' wood we would treat it differently. I like the way the tung oil makes the grain 'pop'. And I don't mind waiting for coats to dry, I knew there was a day between coats, but since we are building doors ourselves I will have plenty of time to finish a door as hubby makes another. Can I put poly over tung oil? Or, what can I put over tung oil to make it work?
    S

• sombreuil_mongrel
    14 years ago