Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ranger11_gw

new pine doors new oak moulding

ranger11
10 years ago

My house was flooded, so i gutted it and installed new 6 panel pine doors and oak jams with oak moulding.
I would like to keep the wood tone light, any ideas of the correct way to proceed (i am not a professional) any help is very much appreciated.
Thanks,
chris

Comments (3)

• User
    10 years ago

You want to use stain, dye or just finish?

The two woods will not look the same color shade even with the same colorant.

Trim should be stained/finished before installing.

To get the same tones, the same species wood has to be used---unless you do a LOT of experimentation to get close with different recipes of colorant.

I have a personal dislike for painting oak---the grain shows and instead of smooth surfaces, it looks like painted oak---which it terrible, IMHO.

And pine blotches quite a bit without prestain treatments. Which are usually made by the applier---1# cuts of shellac for instance. And stains for pine are usually recipes of three or more different stains to get the pine to look decent.

You might just stain the oak---that is fairly simple and paint the doors.

• klem1
    10 years ago