Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
texashottie

Need help Reinforcing Antique Bed (pics)

texashottie
16 years ago

Hi! I'm new to antiques. I just bought from an auction a Louis XVI walnut double bed for my guest room. It has the side rails.

{{gwi:1383472}}

Here are close-ups of the side rails:

{{gwi:1383473}}

{{gwi:1383474}}

The deliverer suggested I reinforce the bed before anyone sleeps on it. He said to run a board inside the length of the siderail, then place several supports spanning across the width of the bed from those siderail supports. He also stated to have a few vertical supports in the middle. Is this what you would do?

I'd appreciate any input!

Comments (5)

• kmealy
    16 years ago

It's certainly not a bad idea. Reinforcements are almost always found in queen and king beds. It depends a lot on how strong your box frame is and how much weight you'll be holding on the bed. I'd feel better with a little more support. Kings always and queens sometimes have "split box springs" that make a center support mandatory.

The strip your guy recommends is called a "ledger strip." Generally these are 1"x1" and are screwed every 6-8 inches across its length.

Typically 1x2 are used for cross beams and these are screwed down into the ledger strip. I've also seen then dropped into a notch, but this is both more work to build and less secure. Sometimes they are stapled to a set of nylon straps. Don't really think the staples do much but hold the spacing. They are certainly of no structural value. I have seen cross supports every 4" or 4 per bed. I think the choice is yours.

As far as a center support to the floor, I usually see one or two of these in kings. I have cobbled together supports like this with a flange, cap and iron pipe nipple from the plumbing department. I've also seen a 2x2 cut to the right length and bolted into its cross beam with a dowel screw or hangar bolt and t-nut. The link below shows hardware specifically for this purpose.