Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sonet53

how to finish Knotty pine screed porch

sonet53
10 years ago

Hi,
Newbie here. I have a 20 year old knotty pine screened porch that I have left unfinished since it was built. We left the T&G 6" pine boards bare because we liked the natural look. The boards are used to make up the knee wall and ceiling. Every year, I have to bleach the boards due to mildew. As a result they have a white look to them.

This year, after bleaching, i feel like I would like to finish it off and maybe protect the wood better and add a touch of color (want to keep it light though).

I am looking for a product that can used for knotty pine boards that will protect and add a little color. Do I need to stain, then apply a urethane coat? Or are the all in one products like Olympic Maximum Stain + Sealer better?

Are there any out there that have had a good experience finishing a knotty pine screened porch in the New England area?

Comments (3)

• sloyder
    10 years ago

if you want a natural look I would use an exterior spar varnish. For color you could do a whitewash finish.

• bobismyuncle
    10 years ago

If you look at the MSDS for Olympic Maximum Stain + Sealer, you will see it's
    Stoddard Solvent : 40-70% - this is just paint thinner that will evaporate away, contributing nothing to the final finish

Linseed oil : 7-13% OK, but provides virtually no protection and no moisture exclusion

Paraffin waxes and hydrocarbon waxes 1-5% Likewise, little to no protection

With knotty pine, you always risk the resins in the knots and wood from affecting the color and result of the final finish. For example, if you're going to "whitewash" it, the knots will telegraph through in a few years.

If I wanted a clear film finish, this is what I would do:

* Light overall sanding to remove the weathering. If you don't have one, it would be worthwhile to buy or rent a decent random orbit sander.