Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
klavier_gw

My first belt driven table saw

klavier
12 years ago

Hello,

I just bought a vintage Craftsman "100" 10 inch table saw (model #:113.29992). I paid $100 and already have gone to the sears parts website and dropped $60 into it for two new bearings, a new belt, and a set of new arbor keys. The bearings literally went on its first use, but it was no surprise on a saw that was made in 1962 and sat unused for over 10 years. It has a stock 1hp sears motor. I am new to table saws in general and have never used anything belt driven. What sort of things should I be looking for as far as maintenance and improvements? Before the bearing went I could balance a penny on its side without it falling over while the saw was running. I had read online that this was a sign of a good quality saw. I think $160 total for this saw was a good price, but again, I really don't have much experience with table saws.

Cheers and thanks for your input,

Werner J Stiegler

Comments (28)

• User
    12 years ago

That saw was made when Craftsman was a good brand.

Does it have the original fence and miter guage? They were pretty good even back then.

You can get a lot of info from the web site listed below.

Here is a link that might be useful: vintagemachinery

• klavier
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Hello,
    Thanks for the website. It does have the original miter guage and fence, as well as an added table extension. I was just surprised to see that sears still supplies most all of the parts for this tool.

Cheers,
    Werner

• klavier
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Does anyone have information on how to tension the belt?
    Cheers,
    Werner

• User
    12 years ago

All the contractor type saws I have seen simply use the motor weight to tension the belt.

• bobismyuncle
    12 years ago

You might upgrade to a link belt. It will reduce the vibration.