Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kathrine_gw

Oil & Wax Finish: need help on the wax part!

kathrine
18 years ago

I'm in the process of finishing my kitchen cabinets. 4 coats of tung oil & two sandings already finished. Cabinets doors look like they'll take another coat. I've been letting it cure 24 hours between applications. (white oak)

Here's the rub (no pun intended):

I'd planned to finish with a coat of Briwax - the Briwax website suggests it's just the stuff for kitchen floors and cabinets. However, I just noticed a small print warning on the side of the can telling me not to use it on anything that will be near water. Yikes! Hard to avoid splashing around a sink. Does anybody have a suggestion - should I use it anyway, use another kind of wax, forget it all together? I need to get these finished in the next 2 weeks.

I'm a novice at this, although the project thus far has gone well, I've learned through trial and error and the wood looks beautiful with the tung oil. But the wrong wax is an error I don't want to make. Thank You!

Comments (16)

• sombreuil_mongrel
    18 years ago

Hi,
    Since Tung Oil is the most waterproof of penetraing oils, it seems like the wood is quite well sealed at this stage. Typically oil finishes will water stain readily, as will just wax. Maybe the briwax (which is a high-solid very hard wax) will work well. If it doesn't it should come off with naphtha or paint thinner and you can try something else, like a sprayed-on conversion varnish. oops, too late for that.
    Make sure the oil is fully cured, or waxing will result in a sticky mess. I apply briwax with a cotton cloth, and buff out with a woolen one. The shape of wool fibers is just right for removing all excess wax, and getting the highest luster. (or "lustre" for our Canadian bretheren and sistern)
    Casey

• corgilvr
    18 years ago