Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
avadoone_gw

Should I invest in a Biscuit Joiner?

avadoone
13 years ago

I a young lady, artist, and hobby collector. In my daydreams I am a master carpenter, among other things. I have built a few things that I am very proud of. For right now I'm just a wanna-be.

Most of the tools I own are either my grandfather's (circa 1950-70s) or used tools I got off Craigslist or yard sales. So this is what I am currently working with: Circular saw, mitre box and hand saw, handheld jig saw, a power drill, and a dremel.

I currently do the best I can with the few tools I can afford. I would like improve on my craftsmanship. I have been watching tutorial videos and things like that. I have seen a lot of use of biscuits. I was thinking about investing in one.

So what do you guys think? Could I use one? Should I use one? Is there a better alternative? Can it be done with a cheap tool or one I already have?

I would love to hear any suggestions :) Thanks

Comments (16)

• avadoone
    Original Author
    13 years ago

how is it different than a plane joiner?

• bobismyuncle
    13 years ago

It's technically called a plate joiner. You get a compressed football-shape disk that fits in matching kerfs cut by the machine.

People love them or hate them. I have four machines, so you decide.

I do not use them for edge-to-edge joints. These need no reinforcement and so are used for alignment only. But if you don't get it right, it prevents proper alignment.

I use them most often for T-joints, or what I call "butt and biscuits." I think they make incredibly strong joints for these type of applications. Better than about anything but sliding dovetail or through tenons, both harder to make. I also use them to reinforce mitered joints.

I've made about 40 bookcases using them as well as a number of utility items for the shop, tool boxes, etc. I've yet to have any failures.