Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jlc102482

New to woodworking, looking for power tool list

jlc102482
13 years ago

I am very new to woodworking and am hoping someone here would be able to help me with a basic power tool list. Specific brands and/or models would be great. I am interested in learning how to make shelves and eventually cabinets, and I also want to cut and install crown molding and other trim in my home. I believe I at least need a table saw, a circular saw and a miter saw but I am guessing I may need more than that. Can anyone advise?

Thanks!

Comments (14)

• brickeyee
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

If you really want to move into woodworking and furniture making get a 10 inch cabinet table saw.

An old Unisaw is good.

Bench saws are very limiting.

If you are tight for money even a Grizzly saw can work well, though sometimes they leave off little items.

Year ago a friend had one that had no blade height lock mechanism.

The knob in the middle of the height adjustment wheel only held the wheel on.

for any table saw (or chop saw) invest in good carbide tipped blades.

For a table saw having a rip blade and a high quality cross cut blade is the minimum.

You can do a lot of stuff with just a table saw and a portable circular saw to cut down large panels.

Large panels are PITA on a table saw without some help , or a LOT of in feed and out feed rollers.

Wresting a 4x8 sheet over a table saw single handed is asking for poor cuts and injury unless you can rest it on something the entire time.

• aidan_m
    13 years ago

If you are working with 4x8 sheets, the festool track saw is worth the price. For prefinished or prelaminated panels, the festool track saw is my choice. The finish cut is perfect; clean on both sides and totally straight, better than the tablesaw.