Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jon1270

Brush Maintenance for Dummies

Jon1270
16 years ago

This is slightly embarrassing for me to ask. Despite many years as a professional woodworker, I've never developed a good habit or routine for cleaning brushes after use. I've worked in some situations where brushes were used so frequently that they were stored in solvent. I've also worked for some shops that stuck with disposable brushes (ick). I now spray most finishes, but occasionally brush polyurethane, varnish or lacquer; when I do, I inevitably find myself unsure of how to clean the brush thoroughly enough that its bristles don't glue themselves together as they dry, without using a ridiculous amount of solvent. The poor brush usually sits around in a soup can of mineral spirits(or whatever solvent seems appropriate), stinking up my shop and getting misshapen.

I'd very much appreciate some remedial instruction, perhaps followed up with a few advanced strategies, on how to easily and effectively clean and store paint brushes that have been dipped in solvent-based finishes.

Comments (6)

• bobismyuncle
    16 years ago

I use the following strategy:

Before dipping in finish, I always "prime" the brush by soaking in the appropriate solvent or thinner (mineral spirits in this case) and wiping off the excess with a rag. This inhibits the finish from wicking up into the ferrule.

After use:
    * Clean off finish with a rag.
    * Dip into can #1, that has been half-filled with mineral spirits. Slosh it around. You do not need to throw this solvent out right away and the solids will settle out over time (see below). Wipe brush with another rag.
    * Dip brush into can #2 that likewise is half-full of mineral spirits. Slosh around and wipe as before.
    * At this point, the brush is fairly clean but oily from the mineral spirits. Either wash out with dawn and water or, my preference, dip in can #4, half full of lacquer thinner that will cut through the oiliness.