Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lkplatow

My miter saw isn't cutting square anymore - help!

lkplatow
17 years ago

I am a very novice woodworker in the middle of a closet shelving project. Over the past day or so, my miter saw (a couple years old, lightly used) has started making unsquare cuts. I am using to cut straight down through wood on a 90 degree angle, no bevels or miters. The finished cut is a little bit off from 90 degrees. I haven't changed any of the settings.

I assume something has loosened up somewhere, but I'm not sure where to start. If I put a square between the fence and the blade, the blade is a tiny fraction off from square. I haven't adjusted anything so whatever it is came loose by itself. My instructions tell me I can adjust the blade parallel with the table or I can adjust the fence. Which one should I try, given that I haven't messed with either one yet. I tried unscrewing the fence a bit but the screws are very tight and won't budge, so I'm guessing the fence is tight and that maybe the blade is loose?

Any suggestions are welcome! I really want to finish this project but I can't if all my cuts are skewey! Help!

Comments (8)

• User
    17 years ago

The saw brand might shed some light on the problem.

First, check the fence/table for any chips that might have gotten stuck under the fence and keep the boards from touching the fence. Also make sure there is no play in the motor and arm and that the blade is mounted securely.

Double check the detent setting on 0, making sure there is no movement. Then check the blade for square to the fence----then rotate the blade 90 degrees and recheck for square---repeat for a total of three turns---that makes sure the blade is not warped. If it is still out, check the adjustment that allows for moving the blade.

If none of those are a problem, then you need to adjust either the fence or the arm. Pick whichever adjustment is easiest.

• kudzu9
    17 years ago