Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
1929spanish

What type of sander should I buy

1929Spanish
12 years ago

Hi. Newbie here...

I am working on a few projects and need to buy a power sander, but I'm not sure which type - belt, orbital etc.

Here are my current/future projects. Do you have any recommendations?

1. Currently refinishing an old french door, have stripped 5 coats of paint, need to sand down the base coat and paint

2. diningroom table - remove varnish (that will be a future post), sand down and wax.

3. sewing table - remove finish (type unknown), sand & paint

4. Future projects could include an antique dresser and bookshelf.

So you see the projects have large flat surfaces and smaller, more intricate work, some of which will have to be done by hand. I'd prefer something more lightweight and easier to manage but still the right tool for the job.

Thanks!

Comments (10)

• handymac
    12 years ago

First, almost any sander is a less desirable way to remove finish. The paper clogs, which can cause burns and melted finishes. Once the paper clogs it is extremely difficult or impossible to clean.

A belt sander is the most aggressive type. Which means the wood can be more easily damaged.

Removing finishes is better done by stripping. Even if the job has to be done by a professional stripping company.

The best all around sander is a random orbit model. Here price is important. The less expensive the sander is, the worse job it does and the shorter useful life it has. Porter Cable, DeWalt, Makita, Milwaukee, Bosch, and several mother brands are good. Skil, Craftsman, Ryobi, and no name brands are not reliable in my experience.

There are two ways to put sandpaper on a power sander. Hook and loop or adhesive. Hook and loop is by far the most convenient. There are two types of H&L paper---and several sizes. 5 hole and 8 hole---along with solid paper which does not allow dust collection(the reason for the holes).