Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
beckerster

protecting wood and still natural looking?

beckerster
15 years ago

hey guys! first off let me say that i am a definite beginner. i'm trying little by little to get more into it (when funds allow it anyway).

i've been trying to read up on different types of stains and varnishes and all that type of stuff. and they're all just squishing together in my head.

the reason I'm trying to figure this out is that i have some side tables and wall shelves that I've bought that are bare unfinished wood. i liked the look of the wood because it was so natural, it kind of reminded me of bamboo and they're going in a Asian inspired room. but I've realized that its probably going to be a good idea to protect them somehow (coasters don't always sneak under those beverages, huh)...problem is that i like the natural look of the wood and im worried that some stain or polyurethane will take that away.

can anybody shed some light on my little problemo? :)

Comments (3)

• sombreuil_mongrel
    15 years ago

There are two considerations.
    1) almost every finish alters the natural color of the wood.
    2) almost every finish alters the surface of the wood.
    The finishes that alter the surface least also protect the wood the least; the result being that other factors (dirt, staining) will be able to change the appearance for the worse.
    Finishes in order of protection, least to most:
    wax; non-drying oil (mineral oil); penetrating, drying oils (watco); de-waxed shellac; penetrating/surface-forming oils (wipe-on varnishes); High-build, penetrating oils (waterlox); Alkyd varnish; Alkyd polyurethane varnish; Conversion varnishes; Floor finishes fortified with aluminum oxide.
    Finishes that alter the color of wood, ascending impact:
    clear wax; acrylic polyurethane; ultra-blond shellac; everything else deepens or ambers the color of the wood. Change varies depending on natural color of the wood.
    Casey

• User
    15 years ago