Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
missykdiy

Need help with basic table

missykdiy
14 years ago

Can anyone lead me to plans for the table in this pic? I have a vessel sink and I'm wanting to go for this EXACT look. Don't have much tools beside a circular saw, mitre, and router and have access to a table saw. Not sure what other tools I would need? I'm a newbie who has always wanted to do woodworking as a hobby.

Here is the pic:

Thanks ahead of time!

Melissa

Comments (8)

• kudzu9
    14 years ago

Melissa-
    That's a little ambitious given your skill level, but doable. That table looks like it does not have any fancy joints, but you may have a hard time finding plans. I suggest that you look at basic furniture-building books at your local library to see how those corner joints are made and go from there.

There are various ways to make joints like this; the most typical ones involve: 1) doweling, which requires a special jig and a drill press, or 2) mortise and tenon joints, which require a table saw, a drill press and a mortising jig (or skills with a chisel that take years to get good at), or 3) biscuit joinery, which requires a special power tool. If you try to build a table this massive and only hold it together with screw/nails and glue, it will loosen up and come apart over time.

Other tools needed would include a number of bar clamps to hold everything together during glue-up.

I would find this a fairly easy project, but I have a complete woodworking shop, and have been working with wood for 50 years. I'm not trying to discourage you, but I just want you to appreciate that this is a little ambitious for someone who is just starting. However, we only learn by trying, so, if you are feeling up to a challenge, you should try it. Good luck.

• missykdiy
    Original Author
    14 years ago