Return to the Woodworking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Please advise on wood stain to achieve this look ?

Posted by sonaliagrawal (My Page) on
Sun, Jan 24, 10 at 1:50

My kitchen ceiling currently is wide maple planks(unpainted) along with white painted beams running crosswise.

My ceiling inspiration is:

Cabinets are going to be a creamy white, white trim and crown molding, granite countertops, glass tile backsplash, and light colored natural stone tiled floors.

I think for the beams I will just use an espresso colored paint like Benjamin Moore Bittersweet Chocolate:

Can anybody recommend stain options to achieve the look of the planks like in my inspiration pic? I am new to staining so brand / color / as well as any resources for instructions will be really helpful. Pictures will be great to. Oh, this will be DIY btw.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Please advise on wood stain to achieve this look ?

You will need to use a gel stain, as Maple is hard to stain to get an even finish.

General Finishes makes some dark finishes, like what you want.

http://woodworker.com/golden-pine-gel-stain-qt-mssu-139-673.asp

o

I would advise getting a powdered analine dye that mixes with water, color could be cherry. Mix in warm water and strain through a paper paint strainer or a coffe filter into a jar. To apply use a old spray bottle like a Windex bottle wiping with a rag as you go. After it dries for about two days, and the color looks even, apply two or three coats of waterbased flat or semigloss. You could also rent or borrow a spray gun and spray it. Be sure to try the total process on a large scrap of maple first. You can order all this stuff on line. Hydracoat is a good clear finish.

o