Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jdknyc_gw

Appliances with 60-amp service

jdknyc
12 years ago

I currently have 60-amp electrical service, and I am redoing my kitchen and installing a 30A, 240V electric dryer. I will have an all-gas range, but would love to have a second oven that is electric - namely one of those "speed ovens". I'm considering the 24" Miele speed wall oven that is 20A, 240V. I'd also love the matching warming drawer which is 15A, 120V. Is this possible?

Or would it be better to try to get a GE Monogram Advantium speed oven which is 15A, 120V? Sorry I'm a newbie to all this electrical info! Thanks in advance!

Comments (4)

• petey_racer
    12 years ago

You probably actually have a 100A service, with a 60A "lighting main".

You'd be much better served if you replace the panel with a new main breaker 100A panel.

• davidro1
    12 years ago

Since you are in NYC and have a small amperage, I'll guess it's a small space in an old building. What did you do about dryer ducting? Stovetop exhaust duct?

Any oven that works off a 15A 120V circuit is a bit weak, like a toaster oven. This is true for any manufacturer, any oven, any kind, because power is power is power and no one can change that. My writing it out for you to read is to let you know once and for all, that a 240V circuit is a lot more power. It's actually four times the power when on high, compared to a 120V oven, so it's faster and more stable.