Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flypaper00

Running power to a Garage

flypaper00
14 years ago

I am planning to build a small garage. I plan to install a sub panel with two 20amp breakers, one for outlets and one for lights and an outlet for a 120 small AC unit. I know I need a GFI for an outside outlet, but do I need to have the rest of the inside outlets ran through it? I have a 125amp main panel that is about 80ft away. My plan is to install a 40amp double pull in the main and run THWN #8 in 1 conduit to the garage. My thought is to choose the conduit because of the extra protections and option to pull new wire if anything goes wrong later. I think my angle limit is 360 and it is almost a straight shot so I should be fine there. I am machine trenching so depth isnÂt a concern.

I have extensive experience in septic systems using pumps, panels, and floats, but this is a bit different so I could use some helpful advice if anyone could help I would appreciate it.

Comments (9)

• mike_kaiser_gw
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Is this garage doing to be attached to the house? If not, it changes the rules a bit.

• terribletom
    14 years ago

There are a few local jurisdictions that require a minimum of 60-amp subpanels in detached buildings. That's not a national rule (in fact it's definitely the exception) but it's worth a phone call to your AHJ to confirm.

It's a tad unclear from your description (double pull?) whether you'll be pulling a 120/240V feed (i.e., two hots, one neutral and an equipment ground). If so, a two-pole 40-amp sub should easily meet your power requirements and allow for some expansion.

If, on the other hand, you were planning to pull only a 120V feed (one hot, one neutral and a ground), you could certainly power two 20-amp circuits that way, but it is far from the best way to accomplish that. (You'd be better off pulling a multi-wire branch circuit -- two #12 hots on opposite poles, one shared neutral and a ground.)