Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oxfordmom_gw

60 Amp line from pole

oxfordmom
14 years ago

Okay so my next question is this: In our home inspection report that was done about 3 years ago, our inspector noted that we have a 100 amp box in our house, but that the line from the pole appears to be a 60 amp line. Do we contact the power company (ComEd) to upgrade the line to the house and is there a need for an electrician to the do something in the house to upgrade the power there?

I am worse than a novice here, so please bear with me if my question is totally wrong. I guess the real question is this- who do we contact to upgrade the power coming from the pole into the house and what other measures do we need to take to ensure that this is done correctly? Thanks!

Comments (12)

• kurto
    14 years ago

The line from the pole almost always belongs to power company, so you could contact them for assistance. Since it's their line, you need to trust that they will do the proper thing. Call them, and ask your question. However, there's a strong possibility that you home inspector is incorrect. Unless the home inspector is intimately familiar with the power company engineering and practices in your area, probabilities are that your installation is just fine as it is.

• bigbird_1
    14 years ago

Just because you have a 100A box doesn't mean you have 100A service. What numbers does the main disconnect breaker have on it? 100A or 60A? If the disconnect breaker says 100A and you indeed have 60A service, you may have a problem. It all depends if you have another overprotection device between your distribution box in the house and the power line at the pole. Phone your power company for a free inspection if you're not sure.

• spencer_electrician
    14 years ago