Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
swimman

Question about adding add'l outlet

Marc Miller
10 years ago

Having just built our home we we not sure of the placement of some items so did not allow for enough electrical outlets. One area in particular is in the bonus room where I plan to have the following that needs a power source:

-TV
-Stereo receiver
-Ethernet switch
-Cable box
-PS3
-Possibly a subwoofer unless I install elsewhere

I currently have one outlet in this built-in area. Can I simply connect a power strip(s) to the outlets to power this equipment? I'm not sure how much total power it would be pulling and don't want to overload the circuit or cause a fire! If not, would installing a new box with four outlets and the existing feed wire make a difference or do I need to string a new line to this area?

Not sure what's totally involved as I have limited electrical experience and any work needed will be done by an electrician.

Thanks in advance.

Comments (8)

• jreagan_gw
    10 years ago

If you overload the circuit and draw more current than the breaker indicates, the breaker will trip to prevent a fire. That's is its job.

From your list, you might want to estimate the current required by looking up the amperage/wattage on each device, but I think you are fine with a 15A circuit. Do you know what the circuit is? 15A? 20A? What else is on that same circuit?

Can you use a powerstrip? If it is rated for the current required, sure. However, I'd suggest one of the 6-outlet in-wall surge protectors. Go to Amazon and search for "Belkin SurgeMaster 6 Outlet Wall-Mount Surge Protector" as an example of what I'm talking about.

• Ron Natalie
    10 years ago

The aggregate stuff on that list probably isn't going to add up to over 15A (what else is on the circuit).

If you really want to be safe, get a power strip with a fuse in it as well.

• westom
    10 years ago

> Not sure what's totally involved as I have limited electrical experience