Return to the Electrical Wiring Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Best way to dress wires in meter cabinet?

Posted by Ibewye (My Page) on
Tue, Oct 22, 13 at 21:28

Hi guys, I'm a commercial electrician by day (mainly industrial and controls) and could really use a hand from some residential pros. I'm installing new service (200amp 4/0 aluminim)to my home and all I have left to do is land the the wires at the meter cabinet. Have a 2" conduit from utility co. transformer and a 2" conduit going out to main electrical panel, both come into the bottom of meter box( left KO and right KO). Here's my question. When landing the wires on the load side of the meter how do you route your cables? Straight in from conduit right to lugs which requires bending the hell out of one of the wires or coming up and over the top lugs and then bringing in from the top? Is it requires to have a little loop for ground heaving (I have expansion couplings) or is it okay to go straight to lugs. By the way, I don't know how the hell you guys deal with this URD on a daily basis, I'm down to 9 fingers and can no longer stand straight up. Thanks guys.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Best way to dress wires in meter cabinet?

Oh, I though residential work was SOOOOOO easy. (not your words, but typical from most comm/ind guys) LOL

GO to your POCO's web site and look for their guidelines book. Most will be available online. Many times these bibles will have diagrams as to how the POCO likes their meters dressed.
Mine does like the conductors up and around the top all the way back to the bottom lugs. Make for a crowed pan, but it's easier on the lugs and allows for expansion.
You DID get an underground (feed) meter pan, didn't you?

o
RE: Best way to dress wires in meter cabinet?