Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
buckeyeinwi

Multi-part electrical questions...

buckeyeinwi
14 years ago

1) can you run 3 wire(with a ground) in a residential building to two separate circuits? EXAMPLE: Our dishwasher, and disposal are each on their own circuits, but share a common neutral..? Isnt that an unbalanced load?

2) Can an arc fault breaker installed in bedrooms, also be hooked to lights? Both of my kids bedrooms share a 15 amp arc fault and their lights are on it too.

3) Our bathrooms(all three of them), share a 20 amp circuit(the outlets), the first one has a GFI, but if you "test" it, all of them quit working, so it is a shared line.

We live in Georgetown Kentucky, I work as an electrician at the Lexington Center, have the "ugly" book, but dont know residental codes. We have lived in our new house for about three weeks, keep popping breakers... Want to know what to do... Thanks!

Comments (10)

• davidandkasie
    14 years ago

1) if it is 4 wire counting ground(3 wire plus ground) and the 2 hots are on opposite legs, then yes you can. if they ar eon teh same leg, then no you can't. AC current is additive when in phase and cancels out when out of phase. so if they share the same leg you could potentially put 30A on that neutral and smoke the wire. but opposite legs it can never be more than 15A on teh leg.

2) no clue not a pro.

3) GFCI can protect all down stream devices. i THINK as long as it is only other baths on teh circuit it is legal. i know that you can't share the bath circuit with other rooms that are not a bathroom, just not sure if teh 1 can feed 3 baths or not.

• hendricus
    14 years ago

1. Look in the breaker box and if the wires are on a double pole breaker you are fine. Hot lines alternate on breakers so a double breaker hits both hot lines.

3. Everything in one bathroom, (lights, outlets, fan), on a breaker or outlets only in all bathrooms, your choice.

• terribletom
    14 years ago