Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
allexx_gw

Electric for Kitchen

allexx
10 years ago

Hello all,
First time here. I got a new panel while back, 100 to 200amp. Gonna start remodeling my kitchen and wanted some opinions on my wiring for the kitchen. Is 8 circuts too much? Should I put in standard breakers or AFCI?
Going to wire from under, house is pier and beam. Can I wire under joist or do I have to go through joist.
Thanks.

Comments (20)

• bppark
    10 years ago

Where are the doors and entryways? I think you will need to be able control the ceiling light from every entry point, which means three-way switches. I'm an amateur but I think a pro could redraw this and reduce the number of circuits and the amount of wiring needed. With a 3-wire cable to the fridge, for example, you could run a short length of 12-2 to the micro and share the neutral, eliminating one long run of 12-2.

• jreagan_gw
    10 years ago

You have 20A light circuits? What sort of wattage are you going to have?

And you need GFCIs for the outlets

• saltcedar
    10 years ago

Appears the counter-top lights are sharing circuits with receptacle outlets.
    No can do.

• allexx
    Original Author
    10 years ago

So there are two entry's, one is the gap by phone and light switch and the other is next to microwave counter. The second light is the dining location. I've thought about a three-way switch but we're use to the one switch by the kitchen. Next to the range is an exterior door. The 3-wire sounds like a good idea for fridge and micro.
    The light circuit is 15A and I will use GFCIs, forgot to label those.
    Thanks for the help.

• allexx
    Original Author
    10 years ago

So on the ct lights, any recommendation. Can I share it with the light circuit?
    Thanks.

• saltcedar
    10 years ago

Lights would be fine, or any non dedicated circuit.

• Bruce in Northern Virginia
    10 years ago

You have plenty of circuits, so just figure out the wiring path.