Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
billnrboston

Light Goes On When Breaker is turned off

billnrboston
16 years ago

This is my first time on the forum. Something just happened that worries me and I'm hoping to find some advice.

I tripped a breaker accidentally while doing some outside electircal work. On the circuit are some basement lights as well as outdoor lights. I went to the basement and found the breaker and flipped it back on. A light in the basement went out! I flipped the breaker to on...and the light went off!

With the breaker on, I went to the switch for the light and turned the switch on. Leaving the light switch on, I went back and turned the breaker off. The light went off as it should.

So this is strange. With the light switch "off," flipping the circuit breaker to "off" turns the light on. With the light switch "on" the circuit breaker works as it should.

Anybody out there have any idea what's going on?

Bill

Comments (10)

• terribletom
    16 years ago

I went to the basement and found the breaker and flipped it back on. A light in the basement went out! I flipped the breaker to on...and the light went off!

Can you help me with that? Uh, the light went out and then it went off?

I think there's probably an innocent typo there, but this problem is likely going to require some precise info.

And it might be helpful, while you're at it, if you could add details about the electrical work you were doing at the time. Did you have any wires disconnected in a junction box when this poltergeist started shining?

• bisbox
    16 years ago

my 1st thought with out further info is
    you have an emergency fixture with a switched and unswitched feed. The breaker you triped is for the unswitched feed.

• billnrboston
    Original Author
    16 years ago

No typo!!!

+ Light switch off, Circuit breaker off, light is on
    + Light switch off, Circuit breaker on, light off
    + Light switch on, Circuit breaker on, light on